Leftover Pie- The Fridge Cleaner

So the Leftover Pie came about two years ago, 2012 Day after Thanksgiving (I am not a shopper & tend to avoid the public on Black Friday). I was esconzed in my kitchen, staring into my fridge, wondering if it twould burst at the edges with all the leftovers in it. I had leftover pie crust, a turkey carcass, all the traditional sides of stuffing, mashies, & green bean casserole, & baked corn. I have always been a fan of pot pies (in pie shape, not with noodles) and decided to roll out a shell in a deep pie dish, and bake it empty for about 10 to 15 minutes. It’s okay to have extra crust on the edges, I just fold it over & it holds the ingredients in if they get a bit high. Keep in mind, the deeper the pie, the longer it takes to bake.

By this point, I had already devested the turkey of it’s remaining meat & had been baking the bones & icky bits in water with some spices & chopped veggies thrown in.

My mother use to throw all her frozen veggies together with cream of chicken into a bowl & top it with bisquick, so I decided to do something similar.

I chunked the turkey into bite-size pieces. Next, in a medium mixing bowl, I mixed appropriate portions to the space alotted (about 1.5 cups each or less) of corn, greenbean casserole, some chopped carrots (microwaved in hot water for 30 seconds), and whatever veggies I had on hand, plus the turkey.

Note: Recently, I have also added leftover rice to this mixture when I do not feel like chopping a potato & microwaving that in the carrot water.

I added spices to taste, mostly lemon pepper, garlic, & emeril seasoning, about 1/2 teaspoon each. Mix all this together, & dump into the pie crust. Next, I piled on my leftover (usually about 1 to 2 cups) of stuffing in the center of the pie. Surrounding the stuffing, I make a mash potato levi & smooth it down until it covers everything.

The pie then goes into a preheated over at about 375 – 450 degrees F, depending on how hungry we are & how big/deep the pie is. Cooking time also depends on the pie- if it is about the depth of the side of the pie dish, you can get away with about a 20-30 minute cooking time. I’ve had it in less. Becasue I tend to pile the pie high, & I like my mash potato crust brown, I tend to bake mine for about 40 to 50 minutes until I am sure the center is hot.

EXPERIMENT!

I have used a multitute of ingredients in this recipe. For example, if you do not have green bean casserole, cream of mushroom soup added will create the sauce for this dish. So will cream corn. I have also added milk & dehydrated onions as fillers to moisten the filling.

Leave a Reply

