Ginger Peach Blossom

So one of my friends has this amazing ability to take the most random of ingredients and create mixed drinks that will suffice for even the pickiest of drinkers, such as myself. I don’t really like to drink in public. I also tend to avoid strong drinks as I have the alcoholic tolerance of a hummingbird on crack. In any event, I was visiting her last night before we jaunted from Lancaster to Washington DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival and she made this drink for me while we were watching Helsing Abridged.

Honestly, this tasted a little like pineapple to me, but I enjoyed it immensely.

1/2 oz. Almond Syrup
grated ginger (1/2 tsp tops)
2 oz. Gin (She prefers the good Amersterdam Gin because it “has enough botanicals to pull it off”
4 oz. orange juice
top off with little bit of ginger ale
add marachino cherry & ice

Simple, tastes good. Very refreshing without being too fruity.

She has been reading the “Drunken Botanist” lately as inspiration. Tis a good book and provides the history of plants used to make drinks.

Check out her drinking blog!

Mary’s Drink Blog!

Leave a Reply

