Cherry Blossom Festival

It has been a busy week. I went to Washington D.C. on Saturday and visited the Japanese Cherry Blossom Festival with some friends to partake of culture, and of course, food.
Combined into that one days schedule for the city were the festival, a ball game, and a parade. Standing room only in a fenced in festival- I admit I was having zombie phobia issues. In any event, we managed to brave the food lines at two of the stalls for about 30 minutes. One stall yielded steamed buns with a spiced meat filling that was very well received. I have a picture below of the buns and the stall. The other stall provided a $12 chicken combo which was the most popular choice there.
Included in this combo were very generous helpings of fried rice, noodles, and an eggroll. Also a very large chicken kabob. The chicken sauce was very tasty but what got my vote was the eggroll. The filling was tasty and sweet and perfectly fried to go with the sharpness of the chicken sauce and the blandness of the rice and noodles.

It is an interesting experience, one best shared with friends. I had fun, you should try it some year!

P.S. No, I didn’t actually see any cherry blossoms.

Steamed

Food Stall where the steamed buns originated

Food Stall Happiness!

3 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom Festival

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

    • I didn’t pay a thing for this blog. The blog is a free setup from WordPress- I just went searching for the right template and customized it a bit. Took me about 10 to 15 minutes to set it up and start typing.

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

