San Diego 2013: Day 1

Due to a business trip where I attended a conference, I got to bring my husband along with me for the cost of a plan ticket to San Diego. The locals are unhappy with the chilly 62 degree weather, while we are happy it is above 40F!

Our first day marked a stroll around where we found a lovely restaurant called Edgewater Grill in Seaport Village. I only had a Caesar salad (lovely croutons and dressing) but I was quite happy when I ordered a drink. Being that it is vacation, I decided to live a little wild and I ordered a special drink. I had been fiddling with this at home and asked that the bartender have a little fun: I asked for :

Orange juice
Sprite
Dash of peach schnapps
fruit

The bartender brought this wonderful fruity concoction with a crush fruit mixture that made it extremely tasty and rather dangerous, as I could have drank many of these without tasting the alcohol.
IMG_2788

Wonderful service, good food, and a great drink!

2013-04-25 12.55.41
Dinner:

We took the trolley and then the bus to Coronado. Spent over an hour walking on the beach with the surf teasing toes as we watched the waves. Dinner was a little heavier as my husband dearly wanted to try some seafood.

2013-04-25 18.44.35
He had a blackened whitefish with seasonal veggies and a wonderful homemade tartar sauce. I don’t like fish- but this was wonderful! The tartar sauce was chunky and had adult amounts of garlic in it, making it the perfect companion to the fish for a amateur like me! (I tend to steal tastes of most of my husbands dishes).

2013-04-25 18.03.52

I had a medium-well New York Strip Steak with veggies and truffle oil french fries. The steak was nice and tender and cooked perfectly, with a dollop of house butter on top. However, it had little flavor. I don’t know if it was trimmed too much or if my husband has spoiled me with marinades, but I found that it had less flavor then I am used to with a properly cooked Strip steak. The real fun was the truffle oil fries!

2013-04-25 18.03.41

I had read a blog in which someone had tried these in Las Vegas and adored them, and I must say that I was not disappointed.

Desert was a standard raspberry sorbet, with a biscuit straw as a nice addition.

3 stars- good service and well prepared food.

One thought on “San Diego 2013: Day 1

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you may be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will often come
    back at some point. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

