San Diego 2013: Day 4

We decided to go out early, so we went back to Old Town to walk around a bit.

Breakfast was at a place called O’Hungary’s.

I had fruit and my family had the traveler’s special: For around $2, you could get 2 eggs, toast, choice of bacon or ham. Good food. Four Stars.

2013-04-28 14.14.16

Lunch was the real treat. We were smack dab in the middle of Old Town watching a local dancing festival. Great dancing as high school groups performed native dances in colorful costumes. Several small stages were set up and we waited to be seated while listening to a small group.
First off, they took my cell phone number and I got a text when our table was ready. This place was very busy, but we only had to wait about 20 minutes. Not hard to fill the time where we were, surrounded by little shops.

I ended up going home with a roasted garlic olive oil and a 911 Hatch Chilli vinegar from a local olive grower.
We were seated outside (only place you could sit) and were in the shade while very fat little finches circled and flew around the fountains and tables. Lush hanging plants completed the look. Both my husband and mother order burritos and were most definitely not disappointed!
2013-04-28 14.03.37

I ordered standard tacos came with fresh guacamole and salsa and were hot and tasty.
This will always be one of my favorite places in San Diego.

Our whole group wanted to visit Mission Beach. I have to say that compared to the beach of Coronado, it was crowded and a little dirty. Lots of shops crowded together selling the same t-shirts. We walked down the boardwalk and one of our members had wanted to try World Famous Steak because they had heard it was good.

I ordered the chicken breast stuff with gorgonzola cheese, olives, feta, and sun-dried tomatoes with fettuccine. I couldn’t taste anything except the parsley. I was rather disappointed in the entrée. The bread were baked into seafood shapes and were crusty and tasty, but that is all I can really say about that restaurant. The whole group rated it C-/D+. 2 stars.

Leave a Reply

