Fried Green Beans and Crunchy Onion Chicken

I said I would post one of my favorite dishes, and here it is! My mother-in-law introduced me to this dish before I even married into the family. It’s her fall-back and I have to say, I love it! She makes these in a non-stick pan and used butter. I only have stainless steel, which does tend to stick more, but we also use Olive Oil to feel a bit healthier sometimes. I cook these around medium heat, and you have to watch them or they will burn and smoke quickly.

Melt two tablespoons of butter (the real stuff) on medium heat in a non-stick skillet.

I use green beans that we can or get from other family members. I drain the jar, but still let a little bit of liquid in the bottom. Dump the beans into a mixing bowl. To this, add flour enough to coat. I tend to use anywhere from 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup depending on how dry they are and how long I am letting them sit. Sometimes, the coating sticks better if the beans sit a bit.

To this mixture, I add salt and pepper to taste. I also add Old Bay and minced garlic and I stir until everything is evenly coated. Don’t worry if the coating looks a bit wet or gummy, that just means it will be a bit more crunchy later on!

When the pan is hot, dumb the beans in all at once and spread them out in a layer. Now this is the important part, and the one I have the most trouble with…Leave them be! Do not stir them right away. These beans crisp when they are left alone, so wait a few minutes (like 3-5) before using a spatula to flip them over. Once they start crisping, then you can start stirring more. Eat when you reach the preferred level of doneness.

I ate these with my version of French’s crunchy onion chicken. I love French’s onions. I eat them straight out of the container. I’ve tried off brands, but I do not like them as much. I also love the original onion flavors, the cheddar ones made me gag, but my husband loved them.

I like to marinate my chicken in a sauce before coating it in breading. I do this all the time now, and without it, the chicken doesn’t seem as moist or flavorful. I coat my chicken in Sweet Baby Ray’s Barbecue sauce (my husband introduced me to this and we use no other sauce in the house). I will sometimes use a meat hammer on it first. I dump the chicken breasts in a plastic bag (Gallon works best).

In another gallon bag, I combine roughly 1/2 to 1 cup crunchy onions, about a tablespoon of flour, and some seasoned bread crumbs if I have them. The onions never seem to cover much, and I’d have to use a whole box on two chicken breasts to get the kind of coating I can get with a shake of the bread crumb container. So I combine. The breadcrumbs evenly coat while the onions give flavor.

After I mix everything in the bag, I seal it, and then run my marble rolling pin over it a few times. This does wonders for crushing the onions. Remove chicken from barbecue bag, stick in coating bag, and pat and roll it around until you get the coating you want. Put on a sprayed or non-stick cookie sheet and cook around 375 F for about 20 minutes, depending on how thick your chicken breasts are. I sometimes flip the thicker breasts half-way through to make sure I get an even coating.

Eat when all sign of pinkness is gone from the breast and they are fully cooked (I always have to cut into mine to check).

Use a spatula to remove breasts from sheet as the coating can stick if you don’t spray it enough.

Leave a Reply

