When the husbands away, the tomatoes come out to play (run away in terror from the pot)

So once again, my husband calls and tells me he will be late at the gym and then he will go get groceries for me and to eat without him. This means one thing.

Tomatoes!
Since my husband hates tomatoes and everything tomato-y tasting- I tend to use what I can when he isn’t around. This time, I decided to do something involving the new 100% wheat pasta (apparently what we had had before was not 100% wheat- the bastards can be tricksy!) we had in the cupboard and some squash a friend had dropped off after her ratatouille dinner.

Whilst the pasta boiled, I dumped a can of italian chopped tomatoes into a pan along with some Marsala wine. I let that simmer and decided to throw in some leftover bruschetta mix.

Simultaneously, I also made garlic bread from a nice Italian loaf I had frozen for such an occasion.

I added in some oregano, as well as Salt & pepper. Towards the end of the pasta’s cooking time, I ended up mixing in some fat free sour cream which helped tighten the whole mixture up.

The dinner ended up being really nummy, but it was surprisingly not the prize I though it would be.

20130804-214457.jpg

What was the real surprise was when I randomly decided to put my leftover chunky sauce on my garlic bread. I hadn’t sliced it yet and just ended up piling the whole lot on there. Then my surprise happened, it was delicious! This became my meal!

20130804-214605.jpg

It was delicious and because the bread was toasted, it didn’t get all soggy like I hate. The crunch of the bread and the garlic mixed with the creamy, tangy tomato mixture made me think I had rather come up with my own version of something I saw on “French Cooking at Home” (I couldn’t remember the name or find it) instead of the side it was originally intended as. The cooking show talked about how a small meal for one usually involved a few pieces of bread with different toppings- like sautéed mushrooms or steamed arugula and chicken- things like that. It was basically whatever topping you wanted was the limit.

The point, once I find it, is that my whim ended up better then the meal I actually planned. Go figure! This is why I love to experiment and why I always emphasize it in cooking. The mistakes are almost always useful in some way, even if only as a lesson.

Leave a Reply

