Zucchini and Pepper Relish

So currently, I am making zucchini and pepper relish from out of my Food in Jars cookbook. I am munching on some guacamole (recipe later) as I wait for things to simmer.

I have grated six cups of zucchini, chopped six cups of peppers, and grated two and a half cups of onions. This has been cooked in two cups of apple cider vinegar, and it just spent 30 minutes reducing. First off, the biggest thing that jumped out was the change in color. I decided to add some color and threw in one red pepper with the green peppers- I think it definitely added some good color as the green peppers turned very pale after reducing.

20130805-183457.jpg

Now I randomly decided to film bits as I was trying this recipe. Unfortunately, since I am a cheap-sake and do not wish to spend $8 a year on the off chance I might upload a video every now and then, I am going to post it onto my youtube channel and then put the link here! It’s a kind of a spur of the moment thing and as long as I don’t get any wildly inappropriate remarks, I might do it again.

I simmered my relish mixture again with the required spices added in.

I am about to pack it into jars.

I have the jars in the canner, and once it reaches a rolling boil, it has to process for 10 minutes.

They seem very pretty and when I tried the smidgen of what I had left over, the relish was pretty good! It will get even better as it sits and has a chance to meld over the next few weeks.

I hope that the video helps a little bit as I know my writing can be a bit hard to follow sometime. Then again, my speaking is not much better.

20130806-205101.jpg
The finished product!

Leave a Reply

