Spiced Apple Butter

20131023-173328.jpg

Wow, it feels like it has been forever since I last posted. More like a month and a half, but lots of things can happen in a short time period. Between dislocating my thumb, getting food poisoning, then getting a bacterial infection which decided to make my lungs a playground, I’ve not had a chance to type, or even cook, for that matter.

With the first frost predicted for tonight, I am rushing around picking green tomatoes (Pickled Green Tomatoes recipe I want to try, will post later) and trying to get apples dealt with.

My parents had a good apple crop this year (around 10 cat litter buckets or so) and then they went on a trip. My mother requested that I use as many apples as I could. They are very good this year, very tart and sweet. The first batch was apple sauce. My mum and I have been toying with the idea of trying to process more apples at a time. So we decided to use the turkey roaster!

I peeled a bunch of apples, popped them in the roaster with some water, orange juice, apple cider vinegar, and some vanilla. They roasted low overnight and I had a lovely batch of apple sauce to process the next day. We got 9 pints and 2 quarts from that batch, after we ran out of pint jars.

One restocking trip later, we decided to try apple butter. I have never had apple butter, but my husband likes his cottage cheese with it (my mum assures me this is a local tradition). I decided I wanted to use the turkey roaster again! I added even less water this time and roasted them on high at first for 2 hours. Then We purred them in a blender in batches and proceeded to cook them on low in my slow cooker yet again for another 6 hours.

When I got home, we mixed in the spices that the recipe from Food In Jars (can’t you tell I love this book?), but in different quantities. We followed the recipe, but instead of 2 to 3 pints, I ended up with 4 QUARTS of apple butter. I added the same amount of spices that the recipe called for originally, and ended up with a mildly spiced apple butter that my husband was thrilled about.

I think in total we ended up peeling enough apples to fill my turkey roaster 3/4 of the way full.

Since I am now presented with loads of apple butter to use, I’ve decided I rather like it! I ended up with a bunch of cans of Pillsbury Crescent Cans from the local bent & dent (Chocolate croissants are an addiction of mine) and I think I am going to spread some apple butter in the crescents and roll up the sheet like a pumpkin roll…

Leave a Reply

