Worm Composting!

So it’s been a busy couple of months recently, what with starting a new job and doing a few certifications. With the weather warming up, I am no longer confined inside growing seeds in baking dishes and egg cartons, counting down the days in my gardening journal until I am unleashed on my unsuspecting garden.

I love cooking with fresh stuff, plus the nearest big grocery store is about 45 minutes away. It just seemed natural that we try & grow as much food as we could. We’ve also wanted to eat healthier & I grew up eating home grown veggies & canning stuff for winter, so this seemed the best choice.

We finally got a fence up around a 25′ x 100′ area where (hopefully) the deer will keep their little noses out of it!

We have not had much luck with gardens in the past few years. The first garden we had after building our house was eaten by cows. Our neighbors fence broke, & there was a rise in cabbage-scented methane in the surrounding area.

We had the last few gardens eaten by deer, rabbits, groundhogs, & even had a bear pass through & stomp on a few plants. We had to save the money for fencing materials, so we tried all the well-meaning advice from family & friends, ranging from fishing line ( a pain) to human hair (birds loved it) to the plant the local amish greenhouse touted as a groundhog deterrent, Wormwood. This lovely plant did seem to work, as the oil is toxic, and will actually kill a lot of the plants near it after it washes off during a rain and seeps into the ground.

I also find it immensely amusing that this is the prime ingredient in making absinthe, and is the source of the famous hallucinations.

Anyhoodles, we have the whole garden planted & were complaining that we should of made it bigger (keep in mind we plan on canning a great deal).

I did just stumble on a neat site which you can find here. That allows you to input your garden size, the # of adults in a household, & the plant varieties you want. It arranges the garden & gives you a plot of what you can plant where. This avoids cross breading and such and also helps with plants that benefit from each other.

Another thing I did was read a nice composting book. Out of the several forms of composting, the one that caught my eye was WORM COMPOSTING!

I find it both exciting and gross. Let me tell you, sticking my hands into the mass of worms for the first time did illicit a tiny full body shudder that I denied when my husband commented on it.

My one friend’s little boy supported my decision, & I ordered a Worm Farm & my 1 lb. (about a 1,000) from Uncle Jim’s Worm Farm just arrived!

20140604-182622.jpg

20140604-182629.jpg

It has a booklet & a DVD (which I confess to not watching) & all sorts of things that happy worms need.

You are suppose to leave the worms alone for 3 days just to let them acclamate. I confess to not having enough patience, I didn’t even make it 20 minutes. I realized I did have to check because the next morning, it was like escape from Alcatraz. I now check every morning to put worms back in the box & I now have a bright light on above the box to keep them from doing a Free Willy.

I am so excited to have my first batch of worm compost, as it is very good for planting & gardens.
Worm updates will follow!

Leave a Reply

