Enchiladas revisited

its one of my favorite times of the year.  We’re getting the garden ready.  I’ve got plants sprouting in my sunroom, ready to be relocated, and the thunderstorms bring all that wonderful rain.  I just finished assembling a modified enchilada dish, and I’m sitting in my sunroom with my windows open, listening to the birds In the forest, and smelling the rain.  I just heard a frog a little while ago, and that is such a wonderful feeling, that I was grinning the whole time he was calling.  

When it rains, I get contemplative, and it never hurts to sit for a bit and not do anything.  Of course, my cat, Chester, views this as a monumental waste of time, when I could be doing important things, like petting him.

  
Between being told I have Carpal Tunnel by my doctor and having a bad situation happening in my husbands family, it has just been a little crazy here lately.  

Tax season has ended, and the husband is now home for dinner, so I’ve started trying the stuff I either haven’t made in a while, or wanted to fiddle with.

We had grilled chicken breasts earlier this week, keeping in mind we’d be using them for dinner later on.

I followed the guidelines from a recipe I linked to a while ago, that’s in my archives.  It was a good base, but I decided to just use what I had in the fridge and go from there.

I cubed the chicken after taking it of the bone.  I had one large chicken breast.  

I chopped about 1/2 a green pepper and about 1/4 cup of Vidalia onion and threw them all into a nonstick pot with olive oil.  After everything was warm, I sprinkled about 1 teaspoon each of chili powder and taco seasoning over the mixture.  

I stirred that for a minute and added about 1/2 cup of medium peach salsa, and about 1/3 cup of taco sauce, along with 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, and  a sizeabe dollop of cheesy quest sauce.   Stir like made when everything starts melting, and I ended up with this lovely smelling mess.

I also threw I. Some random sweet corn my husband had cooked with some Mexican spices and sliced garlic for an earlier meal.

 
Spray a sizable glass baking dish (9×13?), and spooned this mixture into tortillas, rolling and placing seam side down as I went.  Ended up with 6 fitting in there.  Drizzled with taco sauce, covered with more peach salsa, and then spooned some homemade jalapeño salsa on for my husband.  I threw on some leftover Asiago cheese, and then covered the whole mess with about 1/2 a lb of shredded cheddar and sprinkled with taco seasoning.

  
Bake at 375 F for about 45 minutes, until cheese is golden.  I like mine with crunchy bits but husband likes it more stringy.

 

Sweet, tangy, a little spicy, and really good! 

Leave a Reply

